Lights along the way (PJ McKey)


Traveling in France can always be expensive, but there is one expense that I never regret. My candle budget is huge. My pockets are always full of change. Candles are everywhere in most of these churches and like many others before me, I have a lot of blessings to ask for.

Notre Dame de Reims, Reims (Marne)

Protection and happiness for family and friends, successes, health, safe journeys, to honor the memories of those who have died…my list is endless. The candles cost anywhere from 1 to five Euros. I always spring for a big 5 Euro candle at the Basilique Sainte Madeleine in Vézelay. We have a special relationship.

Basilique Sainte Madeleine, Vézelay (Yonne)

There is something about lighting a candle for someone that brings them close on my travels to these churches. Something about lighting a candle makes our hopes seem possible. It also lets me leave a little of myself behind for as long as the candle burns. It makes the leaving easier.

Basilique Saint Philibert, Tournus (Saône-et-Loire)

2 responses to “Lights along the way (PJ McKey)

  1. You are precious, my baby sister. I shed a few tears for the graciousness and joy and thoughtfulness you have.

  2. Thanks for the beautiful photos and heartfelt obvious love for what you and Dennis have journeyed for. I will be with you and will light candles for you from Ohio Sonnie

Leave a Reply

