Frescoes at Saint Savin (Dennis Aubrey)


Since we’ve been concentrating so much on liturgical artists, I thought it might be interesting to show some work from a thousand years ago.  This is a shot of the astonishing painted vault at Saint Savin-sur-Gartempe. I used the 17mm tilt-shift to get this vista.

Painted vault of Saint Savin (Photo by Dennis Aubrey)

This is a depiction of the Noah’s ark panel of the ceiling. This was great fun to shoot because I used a 400mm lens to get the detail. But in order to capture the full width of the shot, it was necessary to squeeze my large frame into a tiny corner of the building. I’m sure the other visitors to the church thought me completely crazy.

I am looking forward to posting features of two modern masters of the buon fresco technique, with samples of their remarkable work.

Leave a Reply

