A Guest Post by Albert Pinto


Via Lucis is very pleased to announce that we will be publishing a guest post “Grandeur et misère de la représentation féminine dans l’iconographie romane,” “Grandeur and Misery of the Female Representation in Romanesque Iconography” by Albert Pinto. We first met Mr. Pinto while researching our post on the capitals of Saint Pierre de Biollet in the Auvergne. Albert’s monograph “Figures entre deux mondes” (“Figures between two worlds”) was important for us to realize the Celtic antecedents of these mysterious carvings.

Albert Pinto

Albert Pinto

Albert shared with us this short biographical sketch.

“After graduating in both scientific and literary disciplines, I worked as a journalist in several major French regional daily newspapers. I was also a music and art critic. Now aged and retired but still active, I am dedicated to the history of art, especially in the field of romanesque architecture and sculpture. My current work focuses mainly on an anthropological approach to the interpretation of medieval religious image. With my wife Monique, I published several studies and illustrated presentations, including a monograph about the church of Biollet marked by Celtic influences, lectures about Romanesque Madonnas (with an exhibition that is still in circulation). Other studies cover the church at Saint Nectaire, the basilica of Notre-Dame Port in Clermont (a photographic presentation is also visible in the church), the medieval bestiaries and romanesque art in general. This work is mainly illustrated with my own photos (I use the Nikon D300) gathered in a large bank of images and videos. My lectures were mainly delivered in relation with the “Commission d’Art Sacré” for the diocese of Clermont. Today, I live in Aix-en-Provence where I intend to proceed with my research. I must add that I was delighted to discover “Via Lucis” and to get in touch with Dennis Aubrey to whom my contribution is granted.”

Albert Pinto

Leave a Reply

